2018: A Base Odyssey Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/ Wed, 15 Aug 2018 04:43:12 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sat, Aug 11, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-11-2018.html <p>6 miles - lobster et al. decided to take this week off from running to catch up on rest and projects, and a mental break. it&#39;s been nice but it was also nice to get a run in this morning.</p> <p>8am - smoky sun, mid 70&#39;s</p> <p><small>WT 11 miles</small></p> Sat, 11 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 07, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-07-2018.html <p>5 miles - 8:43 avg - &#39;ster/&#39;tist/&#39;stview - after a couple of days off i felt better than i have in a while. this might be the first run all year where each mile is a sub 9 minute mile. the way things have been going the last couple of years i&#39;ll take this as a positive sign.</p> <p>8:58, 8:37, 8:44, 8:51, 8:23</p> <p>930am - sun, lower 70&#39;s</p> <p><small>WT 24 miles</small></p> Tue, 07 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 04, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-04-2018.html <p>6 miles - whitesides loops via the rainbow connection - last mile @8:25</p> <p>830am - wildfire haze, 70F</p> <p><small>WT 35 miles</small></p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sat, 04 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 02, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-02-2018.html <p>6 miles - easy st/bapcrest/minority/church/wasatch</p> <p>unintentional progression run splits: 9:29, 9:02, 8:51, 8:46, 8:45, 8:18 - 8:51 avg</p> <p>945am - overcast, intermittent rain heavy at times, nice cooling breezes, mid 70&#39;s</p> <p>poor sleep again last night so i slept in and resigned myself to another treadmill run this afternoon but once i got things settled at work i saw that the weather was actually pleasant in spite of the late hour so i went for it and my optimism paid off.</p> <p>4 miles on the tm after work - 8:58 avg</p> <p>430pm</p> <p><small>WT 37&nbsp;miles</small></p> Thu, 02 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 01, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-01-2018.html <p>3 miles - tm - 8:55 avg</p> <p>1045am</p> <p><small>WT 27 miles</small></p> Wed, 01 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 31, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-31-2018.html <p>6 miles - church/rainbow/aspen way/gordon construction zone/wasatch w/LHS parking lot loops - last mile@8:36</p> <p>745am - mostly wildfire induced hazy sun, upper 60&#39;s</p> <p><small>WT 34 miles</small></p> Tue, 31 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 30, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-30-2018.html <p>10 miles - lower 48/rainbow/rite-aid/wasatch</p> <p>745am, low to mid 70&#39;s</p> <p><small>WT 31 miles</small></p> Mon, 30 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 28, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-28-2018.html <p>8 miles - lobster/bap/crestview/hacking smokers loop - 6 x 30 sec reps on golden/wasatch</p> <p>8am - mostly sun, mid to upper 70&#39;s</p> <p><small>WT 31 miles</small></p> Sat, 28 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 26, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-26-2018.html <p>i&#39;ve run the last 10 days in a row and didn&#39;t sleep well last night so decided to take today off and ended up doing a couple hours of yard work.</p> <p>last month i had a nine day streak towards the end of the month and i ran 49 miles in that 9 days, an average of 5.4 miles a day. this month i streaked 10 days with a total of 64 miles for an average of 6.4 miles per day. so i am improving slowly but steadily.</p> Thu, 26 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 25, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-25-2018.html <p>6 miles - lower 48 et al.</p> <p>845am - mostly clouds, late 70&#39;s/early 80&#39;s</p> <p>345pm - 4 miles - tm - 8:46 avg</p> <p><small>WT 43&nbsp;miles</small></p> Wed, 25 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 24, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-24-2018.html <p>3 miles - tm - 8:45 avg</p> <p>1115am - just enough to completly soak my shorts with sweat - 9th day in a row</p> <p><small>WT 38 miles</small></p> Tue, 24 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 23, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-23-2018.html <p>4 miles - owens/lobster/baptist</p> <p>8am - mostly sun, low 70&#39;s, humidity 50% (that&#39;s high around these here parts)</p> <p><small>WT 43 miles</small></p> Mon, 23 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 22, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-22-2018.html <p>6 miles - tm - 8:48 avg</p> <p>1130am - SWEAT</p> <p><small>WT 47 miles</small></p> Sun, 22 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 21, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-21-2018.html <p>6 slow ones - church-n-rainbow/sherwood/top minority/gordon west/&#39;tiste&#39;stview</p> <p>8am - mostly sun, low 80&#39;s</p> <p><small>WT 41 miles</small></p> Sat, 21 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 20, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-20-2018.html <p>6 mils - the lobster/baptiste/crestview/wasatch routine. moving very slow today. also i forgot to pack running socks - bleh.</p> <p>745am - mostly sun, upper 70&#39;s</p> <p><small>WT 40 miles</small></p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Fri, 20 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 19, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-19-2018.html <p>4 miles - from home - green/nicholls rd down. 1st mile alone then 3 with neighbor Craig</p> <p>630am - pre-sun, clear skies, upper 60&#39;s</p> <p>4 miles on the tm after work - pulled out the old A5&#39;s just to give my feet something new to do</p> <p><small>WT 39&nbsp;miles</small></p> Thu, 19 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 18, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-18-2018.html <p>5 miles - tm - 8:46 avg</p> <p>11am</p> <p><small>WT 34 miles</small></p> Wed, 18 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 17, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-17-2018.html <p>4 miles - &#39;ster/&#39;tiste/&#39;stview</p> <p>8am - sun, mid 70&#39;s, humidity 48%</p> <p>pm - 4 miles on the tm after work - 8:49 avg</p> <p><small>WT 29&nbsp;miles</small></p> Tue, 17 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 16, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-16-2018.html <p>8 miles - lower 48/fort lane hook/wasatch</p> <p>830am - overcast, mid 70&#39;s, and wonderful RAIN the last halfish of the run</p> <p><small>WT 26 miles</small></p> Mon, 16 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 14, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-14-2018.html <p>5 miles - church/minority slide/lobsta/crestview/wasatch. felt better today than the last sevral.</p> <p>11am - temps in the low 80&#39;s and 38% humidity, muggy, but there was cloud cover and a few breezes around.</p> <p><small>WT 31 miles</small></p> Sat, 14 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 13, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-13-2018.html <p>5 miles - lobstacrestview - poor sleep maybe from being sick. slept in a little and ran in the heat.</p> <p>periodic bum knee report: so the left knee that i injured last october still presents a little pain at the beginning of most runs but goes away after warmed up except on longer runs where it will start to hurt a bit but not a sharp pain. mostly the knee is talking to me when i&#39;m not running, sometimes it&#39;s loudest when i&#39;m not moving at all. which suggests to me that the more i move the better off i&#39;ll be.</p> <p>930am - sun, 85F</p> <p><small>WT 26 miles</small></p> Fri, 13 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 12, 2018 http://JD.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-12-2018.html <p>3 miles - tm - i got sick the night before last. nausea, chills, achy joints, headache; the full monty. don&#39;t know if it was flu or food poisoning or what. but i thought it wise to keep resting this morning even though i could feel whatever it was had passed. figure an easy 3 on the treadmill is always good for what ales ya.</p> <p>11am</p> <p><small>WT 26 miles</small></p> Thu, 12 Jul 2018 06:00:00